Rector - UNSW Canberra at ADFA

Professor Michael Frater is the Rector of the University College of the University of New South Wales at the Australian Defence Force Academy. Previous leadership roles include Head of the School of Engineering and Information Technology (2009-2010), Head of the School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering (2007-2009), and Presiding Member of the University College Academic Board (2006-2007).

Michael Frater holds bachelor degrees in electrical engineering and science from the University of Sydney, a Masters in Higher Education from the University of New South Wales and a Doctor of... read more

Professor Harvinder Sidhu

Deputy Rector - UNSW Canberra at ADFA

Harvinder is the Deputy Rector of UNSW Canberra at the Australian Defence Force Academy. His qualifications include a Bachelor of Science (with First Class Honours and a University Medal) and a Doctor of Philosophy in Mathematics from the University of Queensland, as well as a Postgraduate Diploma in Education from the National Institute of Education in Singapore. Before becoming an Academic, Harvinder taught in a high school in Singapore. Harvinder’s research expertise is in the area of Applied and Industrial Mathematics.

He has authored over 190 research articles and has obtained... read more

Mr Mark VanPoppel

Faculty Executive Director

Mark van Poppel is the Faculty Executive Director at UNSW Canberra, having commenced in January 2017. His key responsibilities are the strategic development, implementation and monitoring of business plans while setting key objectives and goals. Mark prides himself in building a strong team culture, motivating customer focused staff to consistently exceed targets. Mark holds a Bachelor of Economics and Bachelor of Commerce. He is a Fellow of CPA Australia.

Prior to this role, Mark held multiple management positions at UNSW... read more

Ms Kathrin Kulhanek

Kathrin is the Deputy Faculty Executive Director at UNSW Canberra, where she commenced in late 2018, and contributes to the strategic development and operational management of the university.

She holds a Bachelor of Science with Honours and has worked in the higher education sector for over a decade, working across research, administration, strategy and director roles. Kath specialises in leadership, team building and mentoring.

Kath oversees Finance, the Library, Human Resources, ICTS, OHS & Facilities and Student Administrative Services. She is passionate about driving excellence and believes in the power of people to create improvement... read more

Associate Dean (Education)

Professor Liz Ritchie is a Professor in the School of Science, and the Associate Dean for Education, at UNSW Canberra. Professor Ritchie’s broad research interests are tropical cyclones, tropical meteorology, extreme weather and climate impacts on societies.

Her research focused on the physical understanding, estimation, and prediction of tropical cyclogenesis, tropical cyclone structure and intensity change, the extratropical transition of tropical cyclones and their downstream impacts, and tropical cyclone landfall impacts on natural environments and societies... read more

Associate Dean (Research Engagement)

Professor Neely is the Associate Dean (Research Engagement) at UNSW Canberra. He is also a Professor in the School of Engineering and Information Technology at UNSW Canberra where he was the Deputy Head of School (Research) from 2014-2017.

After graduating with a MEngSc and PhD in hypersonics from the University of Queensland, Andrew spent almost eight years at the University of Oxford in the Rolls-Royce funded Osney Thermofluids Laboratory working on a number of industrial jet engine projects as well as teaching.

He returned to Australia in 2002 to take up a faculty position at UNSW Canberra where... read more

Professor Nicole Moore

Associate Dean (Special Collections)

Nicole Moore is Professor in English and Media Studies in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at UNSW Canberra. She was appointed to the role of Associate Dean Special Collections in 2018.

Before coming to UNSW in 2010, Nicole held appointments at Macquarie University and the University of Tasmania. She has degrees from the University of Sydney and the University of Queensland. Her main research interest is Australian literature, combined with interdisciplinary and comparative research in cultural history, gender and sexuality studies, and book history, with a special interest in censorship. She... read more

Associate Dean (Research)

Head of School - School of Science

Professor Warrick Lawson is the Associate Dean (Research) and the Head of the School of Science. 

Professor Lawson is an Astrophysicist with significant expertise in star formation, young stellar populations, and stellar evolution. His research highlights include pioneering X-ray/optical/IR studies of young stellar systems, and the discovery of two of the nearest young star clusters to Earth and the subsequent study of their stellar populations. The eta Cha and epsilon Cha clusters (named after their brightest stars) are 5- to 8-million year old systems located... read more

Head of School - School of Engineering and Information Technology

Professor Scott Tyo joined the School of Engineering and IT at UNSW Canberra in 2015 as the Head of the School and Professor of Electrical Engineering. Before coming to UNSW, he was a professor in the College of Optical Sciences at the University of Arizona (2006 - 2015) and the University of New Mexico (UNM, 2001 - 2006).  After completing his PhD at the University of Pennsylvania in 1997, he spent several years in the US Air Force (USAF) working as a researcher and an academic. He worked on research programs in High Power Microwave Systems and Space-Based Remote Sensing in the... read more

Head of School - School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Professor Shirley Scott is the Head of School and a Professor in the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at UNSW Canberra.  

Shirley’s research and teaching focuses on international law as a dimension of global governance, demonstrating the complex interplay between power politics and international law. Shirley has published on a range of subjects including the use of force, climate change, Antarctica, international law and Australian foreign policy, and the nature of United States’ engagement with international law. Shirley is a member of the Advisory Council of the Asian Society... read more

Head of School - School of Business

Professor Deborah Blackman is the Head of School of Business and Professor in Public Sector Management Strategy.

Her research is focused in the area of public service management, in particular strategy development and implementation. Professor Blackman’s academic background is in a range of management and administration related fields: human resource management; organisational learning, knowledge management, training and development, as well as the management of change and organisational behaviour. The common theme of her work is developing effective knowledge development, acquisition and transfer in order... read more

Chair for Space Engineering

Professor Russell Boyce holds the position of Chair for Space Engineering at UNSW Canberra, where he leads the UNSW Canberra Space Research effort. He brings to this role a research approach developed throughout 25 years in the field of hypersonics, coupling computational and experimental research with flight testing, most recently via the SCRAMSPACE scramjet flight experiment program which he led as Chair for Hypersonics at the University of Queensland. Professor Boyce also chairs the Australian Academy of Science’s National Committee for Space and Radio Science, sits on the Executive Council of the Space Industry... read more